A Brief Overview of Wachemo University

Wachemo University (WCU) is one of the public higher educational institutions, which was found in 2009 G.C. It is located 230 km southwest of Addis Ababa, at Hosanna town in the area of over 200 hectares.

The University commenced its function in 2012 admitting 538 students in 12 departments under 4 colleges. Currently, the University has admitted over 18,400 students in regular and continuing education programs in 48 departments under 6 Colleges, namely 1) Engineering and Technology, 2) Natural and Computational Sciences, 3) Medicine and Health Sciences, 4) Agricultural Sciences, 5) Business and Economics, and 6) Social Sciences and Humanities. In addition to these, the university is going to launch 10 new programs in undergraduate level and 6 programs at MSc level in the next academic year The University has 957 academic staff (from these 36 are expatriate academic staff) 39 technical support staffs and 808 administrative support staff totaling 1029. In terms of the profile of the full time academic staff, 4(0.72%) are PhD holders, 258(47%) are MSc/MA holders and 133(24%) are BSc/BA holders. In addition, 159 (117 for MSc/MA, 42 for PhD) academic staff are on study leave. In other words, the percentage proportion of teaching staffs with PhD, Msc and Bsc are 1:55:24 percent respectively. However, by 2020, the University has set a target to increase this to 30:70:0 percent.

Furthermore, the university has launched its branch campus at Durame town (Kambata Tambaro Zone) about 60Km away from the Main campus, Hosanna. from On the top of that the university has one teaching hospital: Nigist Elen Muhamad General Hospital which is found at Hossana town. .

Finally, all the community members of WCU with their profundity and commitment are playing immense role to achieve the national growth and transformation plan (GTP) via the university’s vision, mission and goals. .

The University has been working hard in teaching, research and community services for the last five years. It has been awarded the prize of “Best achieving University” for three successive years, from 2013-15 academic years, among the newly established third generation Universities of Ethiopia.

List of Programs offered in the University as of 2018/19 Facts & Figure

Under Graduate Program Post Graduate Program Research Sites School Program
Engineering & Technology School of Graduate Studies Shonkola site School 1 Regular
Civil Engineering Masters Degree in Business Administration Lambuda site School 2 Evening
Electrical & Computer Engineering Masters Degree in Public Health Shone Site Weekend
Mechanical Engineering Masters Degree in Public Health Summer
Chemical Engineering Masters Degree in Power Engineering
Construction Technology & Management Massters Degree in Animal Production (to be launched…)
Computer Science
Information Technology
Software Engineering
Information System
Geomatics Engineering
Electro-mechanical Engineering
Hydraulics Engineering
College of Natural & Computational Sciences
Sport Science
College of Medicine and Health Sciences
Public Health Officer
Medical Laboratory
College of Agricultural Sciences
Animal Science
Natural Resource Management
Plant Science
Environmental Science
Food Science and Post-harvesting Technology
College of Business & Economics
Accounting & Finance
Marketing Management
Public Administration & Development Management
Tourism Management
College of Social Sciences & Humanities
English Language & Literature
Geography & Environmental Studies
Hadiyya Language & Literature
Civics & Ethical Studies
History and Heritage Management
School of Law