Wachemo university is one of the public higher education institution, which was established in 2009 G.C. it is located 230Km southwest of Addis Ababa, at hosanna town in the area of over 200 hectares. Currently, the university encompasses collages, schools and departments that conduct education in various fields of study with the range from undergraduate to PHD level. Wachemo University has been working hard in teaching and learning, research and community service over the past few years. It has been awarded the prize “Best achieving university” for three successive years, from 2013-2015 academic years among the newly established third generation universities in Ethiopia. In the years to come the university aspires to become one of the top 10 first class universities in Ethiopia for which great efforts are being made to transform the university with the special focus in the college of medicine and health science. With this in mind the university has given priority to investing in capacity building like modern medical equipment, infrastructure and human resource development.

College of medicine and health science (CMHS) has commenced its function in 2012 admitting students in four departments (Medicine, Nursing, Public Health and Midwifery). Currently the college has three schools and eleven departments. School of medicine is one among the three schools

The school of medicine is situated at Nigist Eleni Mohammed Memorial Comprehensive Specialized Hospital (NIMMCSH) which is under Wachemo University. The school consists of seven departments namely Biomedical science, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics and child Health, Surgery, Dentistry, pathology and radiology. It is Focusing at producing skilled health professionals who are able in providing comprehensive package of health services of the highest possible quality in the field of medicine both in undergraduate and postgraduate program. Four batches of medical doctors have been graduated.

Currently the school enrolled medical students from preclinical to internship, and residents in five postgraduate (specialty) programs namely Surgery, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics and child health, Internal Medicine and Orthopedics and trauma surgery. With the intent of expanding residency programs in our institution we are planning to launch post graduate program in Radiology, pathology and emergency medicine.


  • Psychiatry
  • Dermatology
  • Anatomy
  • Physiology
  • Biochemistry
  • Microbiology