Establishment and general overview

The college of agricultural sciences under WCU has three departments at a time of its establishment in 2013. These departments were namely plant science, animal science and natural resource management. Then two years later the departments of horticulture and environmental science were launched in 2015.

Again two years later the department of food science and postharvest was launched in 2017. The first batch of undergraduate students graduated with Bachelor of Science degrees in 2015. After five years of educating undergraduate students, the Department of animal science launched M.Sc. program in the field of animal production and health in 2018.

In 2019 the Department of natural resource management has launched its first graduate program (M.Sc.) in the field of agroforestry. Currently, the college of agricultural science has six undergraduate (B.Sc.) and two graduate (M.Sc.).


College facilities for Academic Purpose

  • Food Science and Postharvest Laboratory
  • Soil Laboratory
  • Plant Science and Horticulture Laboratory
  • Microbiology Laboratory
  • Environmental Science Laboratory
  • Agricultural Research Centres
  • Forest Nursery Site